Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Home    Challenges    Reviews    Features    Contests    Review Policy    Contact

Thursday, February 18, 2016

Featured Five: Early Chapter Books (4)

Five new Early Chapter book reads to add to your reading list!

Princess Posey and the Crazy, Lazy Vacation by Stephanie Greene & Stephanie Roth Sisson
Available Now from Puffin / Goodreads / Buy It
Age Recommendation: 5-8
Posey's classmates are abuzz about their travel plans for the upcoming spring break, but Posey is worried. Instead of going away for their vacation, her mom says they are going to have a "lazy vacation" at home. What if lazy actually means boring?

Fortunately, the next few days are anything but boring: There are pancakes for dinner, a loose tooth, a sleepover with her friends, and a new bike without training wheels! After Posey's first attempt at riding ends with a crash, she's not sure she wants to get back on her bike. Can Princess Posey's sparkly tutu help her believe that being brave means trying again, even if you feel afraid?
In this 10th book in the Princess Posey series, precocious first-grader Posey is worried that her stay-at-home spring break will be boring. Luckily, Posey soon learns that staying home doesn't mean missing out on the fun!

Ballet Cat Dance! Dance! Underpants! by Bob Shea
Available Now from Disney-Hyperion / Goodreads / Buy It
Age Recommendation: 2-5
Ballet Cat is getting her friend Butter Bear ready for her big ballet debut. "Leap, Butter Bear, leap!" Ballet Cat prompts. But Butter Bear would prefer to just point her toe. When Ballet Cat keeps pushing, Butter Bear gets hungry, then thirsty, then sleepy . . . The bottom line is that Butter Bear would rather do almost anything to avoid making a big leap. Why? Because her bottom is covered in silly underpants! This second entry in the Ballet Cat series will have beginning readers rolling on the floor with laughter.
In this second book featuring Ballet Cat, Bear is stubbornly avoiding leaping like Cat has taught her. But why is Bear is so hesitant to leap? After all, it's the best part of ballet! Readers will love trying to determine why Bear is so nervous.

Bad Kitty Goes to the Vet by Nick Bruel
Available Now from Macmillan / Goodreads / Buy It
Age Recommendation: 7-10

When Kitty is happy and healthy, everything is perfect. She jumps around, eats everything in sight, and has the energy to keep slobbering puppies in their place. But when she's sick, all she can do is lie in her bed. Looks like it's time for this sick kitty to the vet.

When Kitty's family finally manages to get their clawing, angry pet into the doctor's office, it's a wild adventure for Kitty, who has to get the most dreaded thing of all...a shot. Once the shot is administered, Kitty is cast into an ingenious dream within a dream sequence in which she has to make right by Puppy or risk being shut out of PussyCat heaven forever.

This ninth installment of the popular Bad Kitty series from Nick Bruel is chock-full of brilliant supporting characters and, of course, the crankiest bad kitty you've ever seen.
This newest adventure brings Kitty to the vet, but not before he puts up a valiant fight. Hilarious and clever, this newest Bad Kitty book is a must.

Also notable are the 'Uncle Murray's Fun Facts' sections. Not only are they engaging, they're packed with truly useful info about cats and veterinarians!

Night of the Living Worms by Dave Coverly
Available Now from Macmillan / Goodreads / Buy It
Age Recommendation: 7-10
What's a bird to do when his sibling is a big-time celebrity? It's a question Speed Bump has to deal with every single morning, because his brother happens to be the one and only Early Bird. You know, THE Early Bird, who ALWAYS gets the worm! Unfortunately, Speed Bump is a sleepy little bird with a big head and tiny wings who's worried he'll never live up to his brother. But he has a great buddy, the ever-hungry Slingshot, who knows how to lift his spirits. Together, they end up on an adventure deep in the nighttime forest, where they're forced to confront something more terrifying—and slimier—than they've ever imagined. It could all go horribly wrong . . . or it could just change Speed Bump's luck for good.

In this silly debut chapter book from syndicated cartoonist Dave Coverly, two best friends - Speed Bump and Slingshot - know they'll never be as cool as Early Bird. But, when they discover the nightcrawlers are plotting to take down Early Bird, the two bumbling friends must save the day! Reluctant readers will love the comic elements in this chapter book.

Sprout Street Neighbors: A New Arrival by Anna Alter
Available Now from Random House / Goodreads / Buy It
Age Recommendation: 6-9

There's a new neighbor on Sprout Street in this early reader series perfect for fans of Clementine, Just Grace, and Ivy & Bean.

Lily has just moved into the empty apartment on Sprout Street all the way from Hawaii--and her new neighbors can't wait to meet her! Violet is happy there's someone in the building who shares her love of art. Emma is excited to have a new breakfast buddy. Henry is eager to show off his model ships. Lily is quick to lend a hand when she finds Wilbur in a pickle, and Fernando always welcomes another voice at the weekly Sprout Street meetings.

Of course, sometimes a new friend can take some getting used to, but with neighbors like these, it's not long before Lily is part of the Sprout Street family, too.

This second Sprout Street Neighbors book is just as charming as the first! There's something about the characters and illustrations that remind me of Little Bear and evoke major nostalgia. A new series with a classic feel!

I'm always open to recommendations and feedback. Which Early Chapter books are your go-to recommendations? Any recent favorites?


Post a Comment

Make sure you whisper, I'm hiding!