Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Home    Challenges    Reviews    Features    Contests    Review Policy    Contact

Wednesday, June 16, 2010

Waiting on Wednesday (30)

WoW is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine!

Exposed by Kimberly Marcus
Random House BFYR/2.22.11
Description (from GoodReads):

In the dim light of the dark room, I'm alone, but not for long.
As white turns to gray, Kate is with me.
The background of the dance studio blurred, so the focus is all on her
legs extended in a perfect soaring split.
The straight line to my squiggle,
my forever-best friend.

Sixteen-year-old Liz Grayson is photogirl—sharp, focused and ready to take the world by storm with her camera. But Liz's entire life is called into question when her brother is accused of a crime—and the accuser is Liz's own best friend. As the aftershocks from that accusation rip through Liz's world, everything she thought she knew about photography, family, friendship and herself, shifts out of focus. And for the first time in her life, Liz finds herself unable to trust her own point of view. Told in stunning, searingly raw free verse, Exposed is Kimberly Marcus's gut-wrenching, riveting debut and will appeal to fans of Ellen Hopkins, Laurie Halse Anderson and Virginia Euwer Wolff.

After reading GLIMPSE by Carol Lynch Williams, I'm intrigued by novels written in verse. Especially novels bursting with raw emotion and tough topics, like the description of EXPOSED implies. The novel also caught my attention due to the main character being a photographer. I love that she uses a darkroom... that was always my favorite part of photography! Looks like another amazing debut novel...

Check out my review of GLIMPSE here!

16 comments:

  1. I haven't heard of this before, but I do love novels in verse, so I'll look into it when it comes out. Great pick!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This one sounds really good! I love novels written in verse. I've read Lisa Schroeder's and Ellen Hopkins and they are both amazing! (Especially Hopkins) I'm adding this to my wish list!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ooh, this seems really intriguing! Nice WoW pick!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Written in verse? Interesting!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I haven't heard of this before, but seems intriguing.

    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  6. Great new title to add to my wish list thanks, sounds awesome.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Another Novel in Verse, thank you. Lisa Schroeders were my intro to them, they are amazing. Adding this to my Wishlist for sure.

    My WOW

    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2010/06/waiting-on-wednesday.html

    ReplyDelete
  8. I've never read anything in verse before. Hmmm...we shall see.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I haven't read anything written in verse either... very interesting! Nice pick!

    My WoW is here.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Sounds interesting. I like novels in verse, too, and I've been enjoying a lot of the other recent photography-related books.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Awesome pick! I can't wait for this :)

    ReplyDelete
  12. I love novels in verse, this looks great! I haven't heard of it before, but it's definitely on my wishlist now! Great pick :)

    ReplyDelete
  13. You have an award waiting for you here.

    ReplyDelete
  14. I hadn't heard of this one before. I'm always intrigued by novels in verse, so I'll keep an eye out. Great pick!

    ReplyDelete

Make sure you whisper, I'm hiding!